Eggplant & Tomato Pilaf

Gluten free

Dairy free

Vegetarian


  Eggplant & Tomato Pilaf 

 This veggie filled pilaf is the perfect mix of comfort with no guilt. Containing no dairy, gluten, or meat you won’t have to think twice about making this one. You can enjoy it warm to keep you cozy or it is just as good cold. I love it as a main dish but it would be great as a side to your summer barbecue as well. It is so versatile.

   I found this recipe while looking for a Greek inspired meat-free meal for my Greek husband.  I was rummaging through a Greek cookbook I have by Diane Kochilas, The country cooking of Greece, when I found this.  I added more rice than called for and tweaked a couple other things as well. I swear you will love it. He is a meat man and he was totally content with this meal. I will say I think it would have been great with a big slab of feta on top, much like you would see on top of a traditional Greek village salad. Luckily due to staying dairy-free I didn’t have any in the house.  Feel free to try it and let me know! 

Ingredients: 

  1. 1 1/4 cup rice. (I chose a brown basmati rice.  Any long grain rice will do. )
  2. 4 medium sized tomatoes de-seeded and diced
  3. 1/2 red onions diced
  4. 2 medium sized eggplants
  5. 2 garlic cloves minced
  6. 1/2 cup olive oil
  7. Salt 
  8. White pepper
  9. 1/2 tsp Oregano
  10. 1/2 fresh Parsley finley chopped 
  11. 1/2 tsp Herbs of Provence 
  12.  4 cups water. 


    First dice the onion and tomatoes. Set aside.    Cut your eggplant into half inch peices. This does not need to be perfect and I like a more rustic look on my dishes. Just small enough that they will cook through. 

   Place onions in large Dutch oven or wide sauce pan.  Add 2 tbsp olive oil and cook on medium until onions start to soften. Add eggplant and a little more olive oil if needed. Continue cooking until eggplant begins to soften.  Add garlic and continue cooking over medium-low heat for about 10 minutes.

   Add tomatoes, water, rice, oregano, herbs of Provence. Add salt and pepper to taste. Once this comes to a boil let simmer for about 30 minutes. Stir occasionally and add  more water if needed while rice cooks. Rice may absorb all the water before it is ready. This is when you may have to add water as you are occasionally stiring.  

  When your rice is soft and ready to serve fold in the fresh parsley. I like to dress the pilaf with more olive oil as I plate it as well. Enjoy! 

Stay Tasty and True,

Brittany xoxo


   

Leave a Reply

